CCPG Foothills Subcommittee

Foothills MapFoothills was formed in 1980 by Platte River, Public Service, Tri-State, and Western to coordinate planning studies and transmission system engineering activities focused specifically on the interconnected transmission system in the northern Front Range area of Colorado.

The Foothills area generally includes the transmission system north of Denver, bounded by Cheyenne in the north, Greeley in the east, Brighton in the south, and Estes Park in the west.

Foothills members voluntarily contribute time and efforts of their operations and planning engineers to perform transmission studies, develop operating procedures, coordinate transmission plans and seek opportunities for joint projects.

The Foothills transmission system is a load-serving system which operates with a net import and with through-flows from Ault to Denver on the TOT 7 path.


Foothills Subcommittee Chair

Chair: Jeremy Brownrigg, Platte River Power Authority

CCPG Subcommittees, Work Groups, Task Forces and Projects



3627 Compliance Subcommittee
DEEP Subcommittee
Foothills Subcommittee
Northeast Colorado Subcommittee
San Luis Valley Subcommittee
Southeast Wyoming
Western Slope
WY/SD Common Use  


Work Groups

Base Case Coordination
Conceptual Planning
Short Circuit Data Base
TPL Studies
Voltage Coordination


Task Forces

Colorado Energy Plan
Lamar – Front Range
Rush Creek

Colorado Planning

Rule 3627
Senate Bill 100 Colorado


Lamar – Front Range - 2013
Weld County Expansion



Foothills Calendar Events
No Meetings Scheduled


Key Links

Contact Foothills



Supporting Documentation